Semicircular Vegan


Vegan Mofo #3 Iron Chef SemiChallenge by ijustdiedinside
October 5, 2008, 2:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Katie has set for an iron chef challenge for the mofo-ers.  This weeks mystery ingredients were revealed to be apples and ginger!  Yum!

Yesterday was the first day I was really feeling that Fall was here.   It was chilly in the apartment, yet warmer outside – a sure sign that cold weather is on the way.   There are leaves all over the sidewalk and you can see people bravely trying to deny the cold by getting just a little more time out of their summer wardrobe.

On my brisk walk to C-Town, I thought about my last post and how I wanted to try to make some non-wheaty, non semicircular foods in the Xpress, and I came up with the simplest idea – Ginger Baked Apples.   My dad made baked apples all the time when I was a kid, and I hadn’t had them in a million years!

So, I picked up some crisp Macintosh apples and a hunk of ginger and set to work.

I sliced the apples in half and cored them with a spoon, filling the hole with diced ginger, brown sugar, cinnamon, earth balance and pecans.

Then, I closed the lid and cooked them for about 12 minutes until they were soft, but not totally mushy.

These were delicious (even though they don’t look very pretty) and oh so perfect for a chilly day served with some vanilla Tofutti.

*I should note that these were my second attempt at baked apples yesterday.  I’ve learned my lesson.  I will never start playing Viva Pinata 2 while something is cooking.    I had heard a rumor that if you feed a Rashberry 10 pumpkins he will turn into a Chippopatmus.

rashberry

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I too am easily distracted! The apples look delicious, so perfect for autumn.
I found your blog a few months ago and love your semi-circular theme :o)

Comment by I am not a rabbit

hot damn. would you use the g2 express as much as you do now, if you weren’t the ardent semi circular blogger that you’re known to be?

xo
kittee

Comment by kittee

Wow those apples look amazing!! So so so good!! I wish I had some more apples so I can try this great recipe.

Comment by Jay

Awesome! Only you would think to stick two whole apples into that thing.

Comment by ruby red vegan

Holy greatness. Words cannot express what I’m feeling right now!

Comment by Monique

you’re right, those apples look awesome for those chilly fall days

Comment by bex

sisty! you’re addicted to food and viva pinata! i probably will be too though, once the game shows up in my mailbox!

Comment by Shmeepers

oooh these look great!

Comment by Tofufreak

This looks great! I love to make healthier stuff in the GT Express. Thanks for the idea!

Comment by Michelle

mmm, i think they do look pretty yummy!

Comment by evestirs

What won’t it do?!

Comment by melisser

I want that semi circle thing. And those apples.

Right now.

Comment by Tracy




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

