Semicircular Vegan


Black Bean Minis by ijustdiedinside
April 2, 2009, 7:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve been trying to figure out how to use the mini muffin pan that came with the new GT Xpress.   I guess I could have just made muffins, but I like to mix it up.  

 This pan is so cute, I want to make many things in it.  I was thinking falafel, but I actually don’t really like falafel, so I decided on black bean burgers.  I used the burger recipe from the Candle Cafe cookbook that Maureen gave me for xmas.  

What I really like about these pan inserts, even though they are pretty flimsy feeling, is that nothing sticks to them.  In the OLD gt xpress I had to spray a ton of oil and then pry whatever I cooked out very gingerly, so as not to disturb the semicircular shape.  With these removeable pans I just pop out the pan and flip it over onto a plate or cutting board.  SET IT AND FORGET IT!

 So, using my cookie scoop I plopped some black bean batter (gross sounding alliteration), into the little muffin wells and SET IT AND FORGOT IT!   I couldn’t ACTUALLY forget it though, because the built-in timer makes this really loud ticking sound.   

I cooked the burgers for about 12 minutes and they came out great!   They are really hearty and aren’t mushy or fall apart-y at all. 

  

 I ate them falafel style in a whole wheat pita with a big blob of guacamole.   Pretty terrific lunch!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

YUM!!!

Comment by Virginia

helloooo yumsy!

Comment by shmeeps

You are such a superstar!

Comment by getsconed

This is the best idea ever!!

Comment by Nicole

The xpress redi set go looks pretty neat and I can think of a ton of things I could make in it. So far I have heard it is a definite upgrade over the xpress 101 with better usability.

Comment by xpress redi set go




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

