Semicircular Vegan


Leftover Makeover by ijustdiedinside
December 8, 2007, 4:32 am
Filed under: leftover makeovers

Cathy Mitchell is sure we will love her leftover makeovers, most of which involve putting some leftovers into a tortilla and making a “grilled stuffed burrito.” Being from San Diego, I’m realllllly picky about Mexican food, so I will most likely not be putting leftovers into a tortilla and making a mock taco bell delicacy. I did, however, make my own leftover makeover. I will call it um…how about Mashed Potato Moons.

I took some leftover mashed potatoes and mixed it up with some leftover sauteed kale and tempeh sausage crumbles from Vegan with a Vengeance and smushed it into the wells of the GT.

Then I baked until they were crispy on the outside and seemed done. I had a bit of a problem getting them out, even using the handy angled spatula that came with the machine, but they were still able to keep their semicircular shape! SCORE!

I ate them with some gravy from Don’t Eat Off the Sidewalk 2 . They were good! but that seems kind of obvious. Tempeh sausage crumbles, kale and mashed potatoes are always good!

I’m giving this one 5 out of 5 Cathy Mitchells because I’m pretty sure she’d be proud of how easy this was. Of course, she’s probably never heard of tempeh, but maybe she’ll find this blog while googling herself and maybe she’ll become vegan! A girl can dream can’t she?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Holy shit! Upon googling Cathy Mitchell, I found that she does, in fact, google herself!
http://www.infomercial-hell.com/blog/2006/12/20/cathy-mitchell-infomercials-as-comfort-food/

she says: Well, Cathy Mitchell here. Had to jump in and comment. It can be dangerous to google your own name, and you must be prepared for the consequences.

Comment by ijustdiedinside

Mmm, kale, potatoes, and gravy. And the tempeh sausage is so good, too! You have me sold.

Comment by cherie

That gravy is calling my name. And if you squint, you can almost see Cathy Mitchell’s face in it.

Comment by isachandra

Well, I have to admit these look yummy. But I’m still a little disappointed that you didn’t want to make breakfast with Tex-Mex leftovers. That is one of Cathy’s more disguisting creations and a highlight of the infommercial.

Comment by Diane

please come back to san diego and cook for me.

Comment by Shmeeps




Leave a Reply

