Semicircular Vegan


Semi Cristo Peanut Butter Sammiches by ijustdiedinside
January 25, 2008, 4:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

French bread french toast seemed like an obvious way to go in the GT Xpress. For one thing the bread is already semicircular (is that cheating?) I wanted to step up the french toast a little and make monte cristo sammies, as Rachael Ray would say. She is actually where I learned about monte cristos and I’ve been craving one ever since I saw her fry up those crispy sammiches in a pound of butter.

I was feeling something more sweet than savory so I made one peanut butter banana sandwich and another with peanut butter and apricot jam. I dipped them in the Vegan with a Vengeance amazing “Fronch Toast” batter of chickpea flour, cornstarch and soymilk and squished them into the wells of the Xpress.

Obviously this was totally amazing. How could it not be, right? I’ll have to make some savory monte cristos soon.

These cooked up quickly and browned perfectly on both sides.

Great job, GT!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

HOLY CRAP. GIMME.

Comment by Shmeeps

I have to try this! I like peanut butter with tempeh bacon, which I bet would be awesome in a monte cristo.

Comment by bunniee

Oh, my, another stellar idea… too bad I’m on a kitchen gadget moratorium… I’d love a GT Express.

Comment by Amy

This is so darn fascinating!

I have to second what bunniee, said, and hope someone tries that. I am freaking all about the tempeh bacon – peanut butter – tart apple combo myself..

Comment by stumptownvegans

Ooh that sounds delicious!

Comment by Chocolatecoveredvegan

I want these NOW!

Comment by Rob




Leave a Reply

