Semicircular Vegan


Semi English Bean and Potato Pasties by ijustdiedinside
August 13, 2008, 12:44 am
Filed under: dinner, pies

I really can’t think of anything better than Heinz beans, mashed potatoes and pie crust, and together they were pretty much the perfect comfort food.   Little pies are what the GT Xpress is really good at.  You know there’s no way it can get messed up.

I’ve gotten pretty good at making pie crust, so these were a cinch to whip up using the little semi circular pie shaper that comes with the GT Xpress.   You can also use it to cut out the circles for the pies.

If you’ve never had Heinz beans, I suggest you try them.  They are so yummy and go great on toast or a baked potato (jacket potato in the UK, i think) or in a little pastie!   I love the word pastie.  It just reminds me of Harry Potter eating pumpkin pasties on the train to hogwarts!

I ate these with some sauteed kale while watching Willow (probably the cutest movie ever made).  These were a perfect, hearty treat to go along with watching Val Kilmer and Warwick Davis on a grand adventure.

Oh! and I forgot I was rating things when I first started. I give these little pies 5 out of 5 semi circles because they were totally awesome.

Wait! One last thing! I posted a while ago about Cathy Mitchell making a guest appearance on the Tim and Eric Awesome Show Great Job! Well, the clip is finally on line! Here she is with John C. Reilly!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love the baked beans/mashed potato/greens combo. Make me some minipies when I visit?

Comment by Isa

I haven’t had Heinz beans since I lived in Europe, which is a shame because they are truly magical. This recipe has rekindled my inner (wannabe) European.

Comment by Carrie

Funny, I just watched Willow too! Normally when you rewatch an old movie like that it’s much lamer than you remembered, but I loved Willow.

The mini pie sounds deliscious!

Comment by veganhomemade

i could handle this. i went to a potluck over the weekend and there were doctored up bush beans, and they were so freakin’ good. i could eat a gallon in a really really big semi circular pie.

xo
kittee

Comment by kittee

Yum!!!

Comment by Samantha

Now you have me wanting to make pumpkin pasties. That looks delicious.

Comment by sarchan

Crap! That might be the best sounding meal EVER. I have a total boner for Heinz beans.

Comment by melisser

haha thanks! I might have to make it again tonight. I’ve got a can of beans waiting for me.

Comment by Paula




Leave a Reply

